Scissors Paper Pen is an award-winning literary collective, founded in 2011 with the support of a Write in Your Face grant from Express Media. The collective was conceptualised by Rosanna Stevens, and developed with the support of Duncan Felton, James Fahy, Adelaide Rief and Lucy Nelson. Since its earliest events, Scissors Paper Pen has worked with a vision to support young and emerging writers under the age of 35 in the ACT region.

The collective holds a strong belief in writers from the ACT and surrounds, and offer a space for writers to grow their voices by presenting opportunities for development, networks and publication. Scissors Paper Pen was the 2011 and 2012 Winner of Express Media’s best new project or work by a young person or young people in the ACT, and the recipient of a 2013 Canberra Critics Circle Award.

Who We Are

Cara Foster 

Cara Foster

Cara Foster is the co-founder and former editor of Burley literary journal. She has also been an editor for Block Journal and the Cambridge Review of International Affairs, a general wordsmith for the Frocktober Canberra charity campaign, a marketing officer for Corinbank Festival and the publicity director for The Cambridge Globalist.


Abra Pressler

Abra Pressler writes fiction from her home in Canberra. She holds a Bachelor of Arts (Creative Writing) from RMIT University, and in previous lives she’s been a chocolate shop girl, grain processor, burger-flipper, hotel maid, and for a while, an English tutor in the south of France. From 2012 – 2015, she edited fiction for GORE journal. When she’s not writing, Abra works in Project Management. For updates on her cats, you can follow her on Instagram and Twitter.



Prior Pen People

Alice Grundy (Storytelling)

Andrew Galan (Poetry, Debate)

Anthony Eaton (Panel)

Ashley Orr (Storytelling)

Bronwen Manger (Poetry)

The Burley Griffin (Music)

Cara Foster (Storytelling)

Cathy Petocz (Music)

Chris Endrey (Debate)

Daddy Issues artists (Live Art)

David Henley (Panel)

David Pope (Panel)

Drew Walky (Music)

Eleri Mai Harris (Debate)

Hal Judge (Poetry)

Impro ACT (Impro)

Irma Gold (Storytelling)

Jacqueline Bradley (Panel)

Jessie George (Music)

Julian Fleetwood (Panel)

Julia Johnson (Music)

Julia Winterflood (Debate)

Lydia Monzo (Music)

Mia Ching (Panel)

Michaela McGuire (Panel)

Nigel Featherstone (Panel)

Randall Stephens (Poetry)

Rafe Morris (Music)

Reuben Ingall (Music)

Samuel Townsend (Debate)

Susannah Helman (Panel)

Will Small (Poetry)

Women of Letters

Yolande Norris (Panel)

Vanessa Little (Panel)

Zoe Konovalov (Poetry)


One thought on “About Us

  1. Pingback: We expand our expertise | The Childers Group

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s